NEWS FLASH - March 2018

Our ambitious plan to open a ‘Social eco-innovation centre’ in the centre of Eyemouth has been put on ice.

The plans by the Trust involved the conversion of the former Town Hall and Burgh Chambers buildings alongside adjacent office accommodation in a £1.8 million project. Financial support was being sought from the Scottish Land Fund and the National Lottery, together with support from Scottish Borders Council through their Community Asset Transfer scheme.

But the Trust have now put development plans on hold.

Over the past few months there has been a significant change in membership of the Development Trust. This has caused us as trustees to review our current priorities in light of the resources and time available to the Trust.

Also there are potential significant changes to community facilities in the town on the horizon with the proposed new primary school and a potential new management structure around Eyemouth Community Centre.

The Trust feels the time is right to build partnerships with other organisations in the town and its potential funding partners. As a result, we intend to come up with a new five-year strategy and are actively seeking interested and committed people who wish to join the trust board to take forward this agenda.

Please contact the trust on Facebook or via e-mail: edct2017@gmail.com

NEWS FLASH - October 2017

We have a few items of news from the last week......

Firstly SPLASH is back open again and will be up and running  as soon as we can!

Due to the 'pause' in the project and uncertainty surrounding the circumstances our Project Leader Sophie McNeill has moved on and is being replaced by Fiona White as Project Manager, well done and thank you Sophie, welcome and good luck Fiona.

We are lucky enough to have kept Susie on as our Volunteer coordinator and she will continue with her fantastic contribution to Splash, thank you Susie.

Our Board of Trustees has had some changes too;

Marina Kerr has stepped down as Chair and Andy Haddow is now the Chair of EDCT

Anne McNeill has handed the post of Treasurer to Douglas Stewart

Sina Anderson has also relinquished the post of Secretary and Gale Coates is now Secretary

Jennifer Girrity has now become a Trustee

We really cant thank these ladies enough for their tremendous hard work carried out over the past few years and appreciate all that they have done to get EDCT to its current position, we have asked them to stay on the Board, in the short term, to support us initially.

Anne & Sina have lived & breathed EDCT for a long time and the work that they have put into this is incredible and we salute you ladies x

Marina has invaluable knowledge and experience and has been a huge part in the growth of EDCT giving expert advice and support.

We will keep you all updated with our progress and events, an AGM is due at the end of November and we will make sure that you all have the date in plenty of time to get it into your diaries!

Pride of Eyemouth will also be taking place at the beginning of November so.....'watch this space....'

We have a new email now;


Eyemouth & District Community Trust

Initiative to Trust

Eyemouth & District Initiative Group was set up in 2011 by a group of volunteers wishing to help improve and promote the area. After a series of open meetings, public consultation and an EGM,  Eyemouth & District Community Trust (EDCT) Scottish Company number SC 438595  was formed in December 2012.

Through its members, the Trust engages in practical projects to improve and promote Eyemouth & District.  

The projects have been identified through consultation, questionnaires and public meetings about what is needed to improve our town and the quality of what is on offer for the community and visitors.  Many of the projects are not already provided by statutory groups or national organisations and so it is necessary to take the initiative to develop some areas. 

Development Trusts are demonstrating that local people can shape the future of their communities in ways that are sustainable, innovative and entrepreneurial.  They can ensure that the process of regeneration works.   

Eyemouth & District Community Trust became a SCIO on 5th August 2015

Our charity number is SC045880

SCIO is a Scottish Charitable Incorporated Organisation

Membership of the Trust is open to everyone over the age of 18 in the community by filling in a membership form. 
The Trust is managed by a Board of Charity Trustees elected by the members at the Annual General Meeting.  We aim to include a cross-section of local interests including young people, environmental interests, businesses and other groups in the area.  The Board of Trustees meets once a month and are responsible for the activities of the company

Become a Friend of EDCT

If you would like to support the work of the Trust but cannot become involved because of not living in the area or any other reason, you may like to consider becoming a “Friend of the Eyemouth & District Community Trust”.
 By becoming a “Friend of the Eyemouth & District Community Trust” you can opt to donate a sum of money. This can be a one-off donation, a yearly donation or a monthly donation paid directly into the bank account.

We will add you to our email list and make sure you are kept up to date with what is going on.  

Please let us know if we can help you with this, just email us at;


Volunteers wanted!!

Interested in volunteering?  

Help make changes and improvements to our area.  

Tell us what you can do - painting, joinery, plumbing, gardening, digging, general maintenance, applying for grants, paperwork, 

Working together we can improve our surroundings.




Eyemouth & District Community Trust (EDCT)is a

- Scottish Charitable Incorporated Organisaion (SCIO).  The company has been formed to benefit the community of Eyemouth and District with the object of the advancement of citizenship or community development 


Eyemouth & District Community Trust is a Scottish Registered Company No. SC438595

Copyright © 2018 Eyemouth & District Community Trust . All rights reserved.